America Abroad Media to honor Aamir Khan, Kathryn Bigelow & International Center on Nonviolent Conflict at Washington Awards Dinner

WASHINGTON, Aug. 22, 2013 / PRNewswire / – America Abroad Media (AAM) will host its inaugural Awards Dinner at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium on October 28th in Washington, D.C., honoring three outstanding leaders in television and film – AAMIR KHAN, KATHRYN BIGELOW and THE INTERNATIONAL CENTER ON NON-VIOLENT CONFLICT (ICNC) – whose work exemplifies the power of media to inform, educate and empower citizens about the critical social and public policy issues of our time.  The distinguished host committee includes AAM Advisory Board Members Madeleine Albright, Michael Chertoff, Lester Crown, Bill Draper, Ken Duberstein, Lee Hamilton, Zalmay Khalilzad, Mack McLarty, Tom Pickering, Margot Pritzker, Brent Scowcroft, Vin Weber and Doug Wilson.   Wilson and Indian Ambassador Nirumpama Rao will serve as Dinner Co-Chairs.

America Abroad Media
Aamir Khan, internationally-acclaimed actor/director and one of TIME Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People of 2013
Kathryn Bigelow, Oscar-winning director
International Center on Non-Violent Conflict, 2013 Nobel Peace Prize Nominee

AAM Inaugural Awards Dinner, reception, dinner and on-stage conversation with the honorees

Monday, October 28, 2013 (6:30-9:30pm)

Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, Washington, D.C.

Press registration and interview requests may be submitted to Shafer Busch,  All interview requests are subject to prior approval.

About America Abroad Media

America Abroad Media is a registered 501(c)(3) whose mission is to promote the free exchange of ideas and foster critical thinking through the development and dissemination of seminal television and radio programming, from South Asia to the Middle East and North Africa.  For more information, visit:

Contact: Shafer Busch,
Phone: +1-202-457-8052

Related Posts